New Product Follow-up: Judi-Kins Clay Squishers

I finally got my Clay Squishers. They were on back order, because there was such an overwhelming demand. I purchased the following 4 styles of the 6 available.

Treasures

Treasures


Mod

Mod


Klimt

Klimt


Japan

Japan


My first reaction was to just sell them for what I paid to get my money back, because I purchased them with mokume gane in mind. Now I am convinced I’ll keep them around for surface texture. The hoarder in me hates to part with stuff anyway. πŸ™‚

Pros:
They are made of nice and firm black rubber.
The designs are wonderful.
6 different patterns per sheet
Can be easily stored in a binder (of the correct size)

Cons:
They are not very deeply etched. So don’t plan on doing mokume gane with them. However, they are great for mica shift and surface texture. So I guess this Con is only half a Con. πŸ™‚
There may be 6 designs per sheet, but each design is quite small. A little over 2″ square.

They sell for $9 a sheet and are available from the Judi-Kins internet shop called Stamp Stamp Stamp

A little shameless promotion – If you want stamps to do the mokume gane technique, try some of my repeat pattern clear stamps available in my Etsy shop πŸ™‚ They are deeply etched and measure approx 3″ X 4″.

Interlocking Circles

Interlocking Circles


Greek Key

Greek Key


Scales

Scales


Collage

Collage


Ginkgo

Ginkgo


Medallions

Medallions


You can also purchase my Scrap Mokume Gane Bangle Tutorial if you need some inspiration.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. 2 Good Claymates
    May 27, 2010 @ 20:31:42

    Thanks for the input on the clay squishers. I like the patterns you chose — they should make nice textures. Don’t feel guilty at all about promoting your own stuff — that’s what a blog is all about. I enjoy yours very much. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply

  2. Laurel Steven
    May 29, 2010 @ 19:17:43

    i just picked up some of Duff Goldman’s (Ace of Cakes’ Duff Goldman, that is) texture sheets for fondant at Michaels – two large (around 5×7) sheets, deeply etched, and nice and sturdy feeling! Lately I’ve been getting all kinds of cool clay tools in the baking aisle!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

My Amazon Shop

Purchase your Polymer Clay books from my Amazon.com Associates Shop and save money. If you have Amazon Prime they ship free. http://astore.amazon.com/polcor-20
