Artists To Watch in 2010

I am continually astonished by the level of beauty polymer clay artists can pull out of a lump of clay. I’ve always said polymer clay is the most versatile medium on the market, but I don’t think I’ll ever be up to par with these artists. I am awed by their skill and imagination 🙂

The first Artist To Watch is Eva Ehmeier. She’s only been working with polymer clay since 2007 ! She lives near Linz in Austria and is a member of the German Clay Guild.



Please be sure to browse the rest of Eva’s Flickr Gallery

My second artist is Carina Feichtinger. (Thank you Kerstin for telling me her last name 🙂 ) I stumbled onto her blog a few days ago and was very intrigued. I had to translate the it form German so I could read it but it was worth the effort. She has fun and whimsical like this Banana Plant-

Technical and precise like this bracelet –

Creative and colorful Twisted Beads –

Kimberly Arden just seems to do it all – in clay that is 🙂 She combines several different techniques to create these fabulous necklaces !!



And her bracelets ain’t shabby either 🙂 The middle one screams Klimt to me.

Be sure to check out Kim’s web page.

Last, but definitely not least, is Sofia Salvador a very talented artist from Portugal. I ended up in Sofia’s Flickr Gallery buy clicking a link in a blog.
I was floored and could not believe I hadn’t seen her work before.
This first piece I can only describe as a Monarch Butterfly emerging from it’s cocoon. Amazing !!

This transfer of a Froud Fairy on a pin really caught my eye.

And these adorable birds are wonderful 🙂

But these amazing little butterfly wing drop earrings are soooooo needing to come live with me.

Well, that all for now. I’m always on the scout for new talent. If you or someone you know of would like to be featured as An Artist To Watch email me at tonja@tonjastreasures.com

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kerstin
    May 16, 2010 @ 12:44:13

    I just love, love love Eva’s and Carina’s work! It’s so innovative and beautiful! And thank you so much for the other artists links! They’re doing a great job too!

    :o)
    Kerstin

    Reply

  2. Kerstin
    May 16, 2010 @ 12:45:43

    …by the way:
    Carina’s last name is Feichtinger!

    Reply

  3. Tonja Lenderman
    May 16, 2010 @ 13:32:40

    Thank you Kerstin !! 🙂 I had a feeling someone would know Carina’s last name.

    Reply

  4. Cara
    May 16, 2010 @ 13:38:00

    Wow what beautiful, original pieces. Thanks for sharing their work. I am off to find out more.

    Reply

  5. Debbie G
    May 20, 2010 @ 20:56:47

    Thank you. I just love to see the creativity of other artists!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

My Amazon Shop

Purchase your Polymer Clay books from my Amazon.com Associates Shop and save money. If you have Amazon Prime they ship free. http://astore.amazon.com/polcor-20
