Great Storage Solutions For Taking Your Clay With You

Do you travel to clay retreats and conferences or plan to in the near future? Or perhaps you like to take you clay with you on vacation. Storage can be a bit tricky when you travel with a pasta machine, 10 pounds of polymer clay and another 20 pounds of tool and accessories. ๐Ÿ™‚ Sometimes I feel the need to take everything including the kitchen sink. LOL

I prefer travel cases with wheels for the heavy stuff. I have an older Crop In Style Stamp Store that has a nice size open compartment in the top and the front unzips to reveal the stacking drawers that also work as removable trays. This is perfect for storing my 2oz blocks of Premo and my various tools. The retractable handle is a real plus, too.
stampstore

To haul around my pasta machine and cases containing rubber stamps, various inks and raw canes I use an ArtBin Ultimate Solutions Tote on wheel. It has some handy pockets of all sizes around the outside for things like magazines, books, pens, small ceramic tiles, etc. I’m not sure if they even make this older model anymore. It doesn’t have the retractable handle, so I usually just pull it behind me.
artbin1

What I would love to have is the new ArtBin Solutions Cabinet. OMG would it come in handy to store raw canes, pens & pencils, paint, tools………….. So what if it doesn’t have wheels or a handle or outside pocket, I NEED one ! I really, really need this baby. hee hee I can already hear hubby “What the heck do you need with another storage case?” Men don’t get it.
artbin3 I’m pretty sure I forgot to mention they are STACKABLE ! WHoo hoo now I need 2 or 3 or maybe 4.

Another great looking solution is the Crop In Style Rolling Bead Organizer with all it’s removable plastic cases and pockets to put stuff.
beadorganizer

Also on my radar is the Crop In Style NaNavigator Rolling Tote. Lots of open space inside and many pockets for goodies. I bet you could get 2 pasta machine and a motor inside this puppy. ๐Ÿ™‚
navigator

Don’t hate me LOL But both of these Crop In Style totes are on sale at www.joanns.com for $69.99. Use the code ACD89 and get free standard US shipping until March 30th.

More storage ideas:
ArtBinยฎ Easy View Tote – Measures 17-1/2″X9-1/4″X12-3/4″. Translucent tote for easy viewing. Includes three 4006AB Solutions boxes made of acid free, shatterproof, translucent polypropylene and are resistant to oils, solvents and most chemicals. Features include no-spill latches, sturdy hinges and dividers for additional compartment capabilities.
artbin4

ArtBin Sidekick XL
Made of sturdy plastic and features a large capacity lift-out tray (9”x14-3/4”x2-1/4”); substantial bulk storage area under tray (9-1/2”x15-1/4”x7-3/8”); in lid storage which include two dividers and a heavy duty secure clasp. This container can hold up to two 6803AB (not included). Overall measurements are 12-1/2”x17-1/2”x9-3/4”.
artbin5

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dezi
    Mar 30, 2010 @ 05:53:25

    I got the Crop In Style Navigator Rolling Tote a couple of weeks ago at Joann’s with a 50% off coupon.

    I’ve got my pasta machine, ceramic tiles, Cuisinart Stainless Steel Rolling Pin, along with clay, cutters and other tools in it. I can now clay on the go and not have to make 3 or 4 trips to the car.

    Reply

  2. Laurel Steven
    Mar 30, 2010 @ 12:53:10

    Drooling over those, darn you! My problem is not getting it to the car, but how to get it on the plane! When I came back from Adorn Me, I put the toaster over in my carryon – the only way to not have it arrive broken!

    Reply

  3. Tonja Lenderman
    Mar 30, 2010 @ 13:37:32

    The only way I buy expensive stuff is with a 40% or 50% off coupon ๐Ÿ™‚ I lucked out and found my Stamp Store at Tuesday Morning for $30 !! It has a broken buckle thingy, but it doesn’t effect using the case. I was beyond thrilled to find it at that price. Especially since I had just been at Joann’s pricing them at 40% off and still costing about $75 with tax. If you have a Tuesday Morning store in your area it’s soooo worth checking out. They have great prices on all sorts of stuff.

    I’ll have to remember the toaster oven as a carry on ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Reply

  4. Cindy Lietz, Polymer Clay Tutor
    Mar 31, 2010 @ 11:32:48

    Great storage tips Tonja! I have to disagree with guys not ‘getting’ the need for storage… they get it all right. Just go out to the shop or garage! It’s just that they only understand the need to store ‘their’ tools and supplies, not yours. LOL

    I’m lucky, because my husband is my business partner and he gets why I may need to store my polymer clay stuff. Though I would say he would prefer to buy storage supplies for his woodshop. Way more fun for him! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

My Amazon Shop

Purchase your Polymer Clay books from my Amazon.com Associates Shop and save money. If you have Amazon Prime they ship free. http://astore.amazon.com/polcor-20
