Good News For The Color Challenged

I freely admit that I am color challenged. Don’t even ask me to mix a certain shade of bluish purple, because it won’t happen. At least it wouldn’t have happened. I have already purchased the book Polymer Clay Color Inspirations by Lindly Haunani and Maggie Maggio. Haven’t gotten to far into it yet, but I am intrigued that it reads like a lesson book that teaches you how to create good color pallets.

FYI: Did you all know that Elise Winters’ Cascade Ruffle necklaces (her similar work is on the cover of Polymer Clay Color Inspirations) were in Cynthia Rowley’s Fall 2010 runway show during NY Fashion Week !!!!

Now I have my eye on Lindly Haunani’s new video From Abba Dabba Video called Innovations: Confident Color – Exploring Textile Patterns. Now this is more my speed. I am a visual learned. Reading the instruction sometimes just doesn’t sink in for me. Watching something being done is a whole different thing.

Description:
You will learn how to add harmony to your work with increased color confidence while learning valuable bench tricks and techniques for working with polymer clay. Lindly will walk you through making a series of color coordinated stripe blends that will be used to make eleven different laminated textile inspired patterns including: Ikat, Seminole Stripes and Flame stitch.

The video will be release in March. You can pre-order it from Lisa Clarke over at Polkadotcreations.com

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ColtPixy
    Mar 05, 2010 @ 12:21:28

    I am also a visual learner. Honestly I never got how to make a skinner blend until I watched a video by Donna Kato.
    This video looks fascinating! Thanks for sharing.

    Reply

  2. dori
    Mar 05, 2010 @ 15:00:18

    I am a visual learner and glad to hear the video will be coming out. I bought the book but I confess to having a bit of a difficult time figuring it out. I do enjoy it.

    Reply

  3. Debbie Goodrow
    Mar 05, 2010 @ 21:16:03

    I took a class with Lindly. If you every get the chance, dive on it! And bought the book – which I’m working my way through. And even having taken her class, and beautifully illustrated, I’m very much looking forward to this video also.
    Ahhh… we’re artists… visual learning is much our absorption!

    Reply

  4. Lisa Clarke
    Mar 06, 2010 @ 07:20:55

    Thanks, Tonja, for linking to PDC 🙂 The DVD is expected to be here mid-March sometime. I’m looking forward to it myself. I love to look at new ways to combine color, and I like the fact that it’s done from a textile point of view – I’ve always thought of my cane slices as tiny pieces of fabric.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

My Amazon Shop

Purchase your Polymer Clay books from my Amazon.com Associates Shop and save money. If you have Amazon Prime they ship free. http://astore.amazon.com/polcor-20
