Polymer Clay and Resin

Using resin with polymer clay has become very popular. Everyone seems to be trying it. I bought some 2-part mix, but have to yet to attempt using it.

Like me, maybe you are hesitant and need to do some research first to feel more confident. I decided to Google “resin & polymer clay” to see if I could find some pointers from people with experience using resin.

I wasn’t wrong when I said everyone is using resin these days 🙂 I got 167,000 hits from said search. OMG ! This is going to take a while.

One of the first links I landed on was at the Objects and Elements blog. Barb St John has some really great info to share on her experience using resins. She recommends a brand called Ice Resin.

Barb says “I’ve tried LOTS of different resins, some with better results than others. I have loved and endorsed ICE resin from the first time I used it. Some resins I can not get to fully cure in San Francisco, others turn yellow after a few months. I don’t have either of those problems with ICE resin. ”

In my search I was also reminded that there is more than one type of resin. Some are self hardening, some are UV hardening. Self hardening are 2-part which need to be carefully mixed. While the UV resin is a single bottle of resin that needs no mixing and means you can do a single piece of jewelry without the hassle of mixing this and that.

I own a bottle (or 2) of Lisa Pavelka’s Magic Gloss UV Resin. I had a hard time with it because as it was setting up it pulled away from the edges of my pendants. I thought they were ruined so I tossed them. Only to learn later I could have put a second coat on. Live and learn.

I did order a sample size bottle of the Ultradome mentioned in an article at Beads and Beading blog It was only $6 including shipping for a 1oz bottle. Hopefully the UV light setup I use to make my clear stamps will work on the resin.

Tina Holden has a preference to the UV resin too. She mentions on facebook a product called Deco-Coat

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cara
    Mar 03, 2010 @ 03:39:23

    Let us know how you get on. I play with polymer clay but recently bought a book on resin jewellery – haven’t yet bought any resin . Am going to do some more reserach too and then plan a project to try before I rush out and buy stuff (that’ll be a new experience for me lol!).

    Reply

  2. Anita Brandon
    Mar 03, 2010 @ 06:42:08

    Thanks so much for your info comments on resins. It’s such a timely subject. I’ve also been thinking about taking the plunge. Please keep us updated on your experiences.

    Reply

  3. Cindy Lietz, Polymer Clay Tutor
    Mar 03, 2010 @ 12:09:07

    That is cool Tonja that you ordered one of those samples from Ultra Dome.

    I have been talking with the guy who owns the company and he says it cures well with a nail art lamp and is thinking of carrying them for the crafter and jewelry market. I have just ordered my lamp and can’t wait to get testing it further. (Sunlight won’t do it for me, just rains too much around here.) He also said it doesn’t pull from the sides or get sticky like other UV resins do. Let us know how your testing goes. We need an easy, affordable solution to the resin problem because it just looks so darn good!

    (Thanks for the link and mention of my BeadsandBeading blog. I really appreciate that!)

    Reply

  4. Gera Scott Chandler
    Mar 15, 2010 @ 22:09:29

    Hey- I’m combining pc and resin too – it’s a fantastic combination. I found several easy tutorials in YouTube then ordered a 1 oz bottle… ran out pretty quickly! i’m waiting for a 6 oz bottle and a UV curing box.

    It’s going to be fascinating watching how people combine these ingredients!

    gera

    Reply

  5. Merrie
    Oct 30, 2010 @ 16:59:07

    which doming resin did you use I went to the website and there are quite a few different types. Thanks

    Merrie

    Reply

  6. Tonja Lenderman
    Oct 30, 2010 @ 17:21:53

    The stuff I bought is called Ultra Dome

    Reply

Leave a Reply

My Amazon Shop

Purchase your Polymer Clay books from my Amazon.com Associates Shop and save money. If you have Amazon Prime they ship free. http://astore.amazon.com/polcor-20
