I’m Baaaaack :)

I spent a nice Holiday weekend away house sitting at my mom’s again. It gives me time to be creative. I managed to get 27 bangle bracelets made and souped up my Makin’s extruder with the help of my wonderful hubby πŸ™‚

He cut off the bar that goes thru the hole in the twisty end for me. Here’s a picture since that sounded so NOT right. LOL

I confiscated his extra Ryobi cordless drill. It has a 1/2″ chuck – that’s the very important part – and put the twisty end in the drill and tightened it down.
Drill with extruder inserted
I also confiscated Hubby’s vise, which technically was mine first πŸ™‚ to clamp down the extruder. I tried holding it in my hand while extruding the clay, but all I got were blisters for my effort.

Once I had the scrap clay extruded for the bracelet cores I needed something to wrap it that was decorative. Since I am totally addicted to making Mokume Gane with scrap clay, I got to work. Here is one of the sheets I made.
scrap mokume gane sheet

I managed to get 4 bangles out of the sheet of clay.
bangles
And the entire lot.
bangles

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Donna Ingram
    Sep 07, 2009 @ 17:39:55

    Wow, girl you been working hard. Love them. Wish I could do that many as quick as you can, or maybe just one to start with. LOL

    Reply

  2. Ashley
    Sep 07, 2009 @ 17:51:25

    Love the bangles! πŸ™‚

    Reply

  3. Kathi
    Sep 08, 2009 @ 10:48:09

    oh you are going to be sanding for DAYS!!!!

    Reply

  4. Tonja Lenderman
    Sep 08, 2009 @ 11:24:39

    Thanks ladies πŸ™‚ I figure I have about 12 hours of sanding ahead of me LOL

    Reply

  5. Kate
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 18:23:12

    Tonja, those are great! Did you extrude without a die for the cores? I finally got a Makin’s extruder, DH got it for me for my B’Day. I have been wanting to rig it out with a power drill. I don’t think it will fit in my little vise so I’m thinking just putting on a leather gardening glove on my left hand to keep the knurling on the extruder from chewing up my hand. πŸ™‚ I love especially the MG scrape clay ones, very retro modern!

    Reply

  6. Linda
    Jul 29, 2012 @ 18:32:31

    Those are beautiful! This may sound like a totally rookie thing to ask, but how do you make the bangles? I would love some advice as I’ve never tried to make bracelets before πŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

My Amazon Shop

Purchase your Polymer Clay books from my Amazon.com Associates Shop and save money. If you have Amazon Prime they ship free. http://astore.amazon.com/polcor-20
