Inspiration From Nature

When I’m feeling artistically blocked and my muse has taken an unexpected vacation, I like to look to nature for inspiration. I recently found a seller on Etsy that uses butterfly wings to make jewelry (all butterflies passed of natural causes). I had never seen so many gorgeous colors and designs ! If only I could cane. I’d go crazy using the designs as a pattern.

Another source of caning inspiration are pictures of flowers.

And what about leaves? You can cane them or use the actual leaf for an impression in your clay.

Take a look around your back yard or favorite hiking trail. You can get some amazing texture off of stones & rocks.

A more unusual inspiration comes from fish scales. They come in so many colorful combination.

And what about a simple sunset? Imagine this as a Skinner Blend!

Then there are exotic bird feathers.

I hope these inspire you to create something wonderful 🙂

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nora Jean Gatine
    Aug 20, 2009 @ 14:11:42

    So true! I’m going to share this with the ClayMates at CITY-o-Clay. Another source of amazing color combinations are tropical fish. If they weren’t real, in nature, one wouldn’t believe the combos.

    xoxo
    NJ

    Reply

  2. Jackie Sieben
    Aug 20, 2009 @ 16:56:18

    The sunset colors are beautiful and you’re right, would make a beautiful Skinner Blend. Wonder if anyone could get them as transparent as the photo? I might try!

    Reply

  3. Michele Holley, "luny"
    Aug 21, 2009 @ 20:05:43

    I’m one of the members at City-o-Clay and followed Nora Jean’s link here. Wow! You got me with the ‘sunset skinner blend’ inspiration, lol! You made me grab my camera and run about the yard snapping nature photos like a crazy person! Thank you for the inspiration and the lovely photos!
    hugs, luny

    Reply

Leave a Reply

My Amazon Shop

Purchase your Polymer Clay books from my Amazon.com Associates Shop and save money. If you have Amazon Prime they ship free. http://astore.amazon.com/polcor-20
