My Smooch-ings: Experiments with Clearsnap’s New Inks

I finally sat down and finished the projects I started using Clearsnap’s new Smooch Pearlized Inks. The colors are fabulous, but I found one drawback. While the inks do dry quickly on paper (and your fingers LOL) they do not dry fast on polymer clay. I found I needed to heat set the ink or let it sit overnight. Oh, the inks don’t crackle like I hoped they would once dried. It was more of a spreading, like mica powders do when you roll the clay thinner.

My first project is a pendant I textured with a rubber stamp. I dabbed the inks over the raised areas with my finger.
smooch1

The next is a similar pendant, but I textured it using the end of a seashell I found at my mom’s house. smooch2

The third is a tag art pendant. I smeared the inks on black clay in a rainbow effect and let dry over night. I cut the clay into strips and made a basket weave. I used a metal embossing plate to add texture. The bail is black clay.
smooch3

The last is a fish I molded, painted completely with the Siren (red), then highlighted with the Gold Lame and Pumpkin inks. A dab of green on the eye 🙂 Next time I will apply the fish to something before I paint it. Inro maybe? Was a little difficult to move after I painted the fish and it was wet. When I finally moved it to a tile to bake it I broke off 3 fins while trying to be careful. LOL Live and learn. Next time I’ll work on deli wrap so I can peel it away from the fish.
smooch4

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. MaryKay
    Jun 14, 2009 @ 08:33:09

    Tonja, I absolutely love the basketweave. They are all pretty, but that one caught and held my eye! I don’t read many blogs, but I make sure and visit yours every day.
    MaryKay

    Reply

Leave a Reply

My Amazon Shop

Purchase your Polymer Clay books from my Amazon.com Associates Shop and save money. If you have Amazon Prime they ship free. http://astore.amazon.com/polcor-20
