Sarajane’s Mask Swap 2009

I have been participating in this swap since 2004 and each year it just gets better. ๐Ÿ™‚ Sarajane and her hubby put a lot of work into this swap. Can you imagine getting having about 50 people sending you packages. With each package having at least 10 items in it. More likely there were 20, 30 or 40 items in each package. I was in 2 groups, so I sent 20 masks total. As I understand it there were 100 spots, so if I figured correctly, with 10 masks per spot that makes 1000 masks to deal with. Yikes ! Bryan, Sarajane’s hubby, spent 3 hours at the post office mailing our boxes back to us. He deserves a huge thank you.

THANK YOU, BRYAN !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

My first mask, the butterfly, was make with a rubber stamp (clear stamp) Iร‚ย  made myself. I used mica powders and glitter added to Lisa Pavelka’s UV Gloss. The second mask came out as a pendant. I sculpted the face myself. Not bad for having no idea what I was doing. LOL I actually made several different versions of the face. Some had mica powders (sort of a faux raku effect), some had crackled gold leaf, some had cane slices. All had a cubic zirconia stone in the forehead ๐Ÿ™‚ I, unfortunately, forgot to take a picture of all the masks together ๐Ÿ˜ฆ So you will see here the two of mine I received back.
2009masks3

Everyone did such an awesome job on their masks !!!!!!!!! Take a look at the 2 groups I was in.
2009masks1
Top Row: Tonja, Ronnie, Mary Vanderwood, Jenn Dorion.
Middle: Diane Paone, Alicia Baker, Jainnie Cox, Elaine Robitaille.
Bottom Row: Sarajane Helm, Julie Leir-VanSickle

2009masks2
Top Row: Tonja, Michelle Zimmerman, Kimba Wilson, Ronnie.
Middle: Susan Mara, Alicia Baker, Ellen Rumsey, Patricia Edmonds.
Bottom Row: Sarajane Helm, Judy Dunn.

And not to play favorites – okay, I’m playing favorites LOL Not that I didn’t love all the masks I got. These 2 just really spoke to me ๐Ÿ™‚
2009masks4
Michelle Zimmerman
2009masks5
Patricia Edmonds

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Barbara Forbes-Lyons
    May 18, 2009 @ 07:11:18

    Those are all great – thank you for sharing them! The black & white one with the earrings is from my good friend and guildmate, Ellen Bellenot Rumsey. I saw them in process and loved them.

    Reply

  2. Laurel Steven
    May 20, 2009 @ 13:18:21

    Thanks for posting these, Tonja! I was not in either of those groups, so they were all new to me. Your two faves are mine, too. The one from Ellen Zimmerman is stunning!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

My Amazon Shop

Purchase your Polymer Clay books from my Amazon.com Associates Shop and save money. If you have Amazon Prime they ship free. http://astore.amazon.com/polcor-20
