My Newest Inro & Sanding With A Scumbuster

I finally managed to finish sanding and buffing a stack of stuff I made last week and the week before. 🙂 I’m not a big fan of sanding, but it’s a necessary evil. I even have the help of my Scumbuster, which I couldn’t live without. It saves my hands from cramping and I don’t sand off my skin anymore LOL. That’s not really all that funny, it hurt like the devil, but I never noticed the skin was gone until it was too late.

There are several articles online on how to sand with a Scumbuster, but I’ll make it quick and painless. Cut a sheet of sandpaper into 1/4’s. Soak the sandpaper in hot water for about 5 minutes to soften it. Center one piece of sandpaper over the top of the scrub pad, which you have attached to the Scumbuster, and fold the sandpaper’s corners over the edge of the scrub pad. Use 4 T-pins (or straight pins with a ball on the end) to hold the 4 corners of the sandpaper into the side of the scrub pad. It might not look pretty, but it works fine 🙂 Now you are ready to sand to your hearts content.

The older model Scumbuster like I have with interchangeable, rechargeable batteries may be a little difficult to find,
scumbuster
but there is a newer model called the Black & Decker Power Scrubber that should be a good replacement. It uses 4 AA batteries, so I’d invest in some good rechargeable batteries.

So, to end this little story, here is the inro I finally finished sanding and buffing 🙂
inro6a
inro6b

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Melanie Dilday
    May 16, 2009 @ 21:13:57

    Ahhh great minds and all…we’re both making inros this week I see! Fabulous looking inro here Tonja.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

My Amazon Shop

Purchase your Polymer Clay books from my Amazon.com Associates Shop and save money. If you have Amazon Prime they ship free. http://astore.amazon.com/polcor-20
