Journals & How To Make Them

I found a very nice tutorial on making journals from scratch by Dawn R. Vinson and it made me think back on all the handmade journals I made in my early days of claying. I recycled to covers off of a set of very out of date encyclopedias that this gentleman couldn’t even give away for free at a yard sale, except to me obviously, but I didn’t want to read them ๐Ÿ™‚

I used handmade paper to hide the old covers and colorful scrapbook paper on the inside for journaling. I attached the pages through the spine with waxed cotton thread and dangled beads on the ends.

Here are a few examples of my earliest journals. I can’t seem to find the pictures of the last few I made. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ



You can make a quick and easy journal by making a cover for a small spiral bound book. Lisa Pavelka made a beautiful silk screened cover on Carol Duvall.

I found some amazing journal covers by Christina A Kapono .
Christina A Kapono

And look at all the great journals by Lady Artisan

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Melissa
    Apr 20, 2009 @ 10:15:05

    More for the to do list!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

  2. Moe
    Apr 20, 2009 @ 10:17:22

    These are absolutely beautiful! People are so creative and just have the best ideas.

    Reply

  3. Garnie
    Apr 20, 2009 @ 10:57:23

    Okeydoke…you’ve talked me into it! ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for the inspiration!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

My Amazon Shop

Purchase your Polymer Clay books from my Amazon.com Associates Shop and save money. If you have Amazon Prime they ship free. http://astore.amazon.com/polcor-20
