Pardo Jewellry Clay From Germany

I had the honor of receiving a box full of clay from the manufacturer, Viva Decor, in January. There were 23 totally yummy colors and most were metallic. After putting the clay through it’s paces, I found it very similar to the clay I use and enjoyed the results. Pardo is very flexible after it’s baked and it sands quite easily. The metallic colors do a very nice mica shift and there is no smell at all, neither before baking or in the oven. It’s made without plasticizers. Instead they opted to use beeswax in it’s place. Pardo is a rather soft clay, so if you prefer a firm clay like Kato Polyclay or Fimo Classic this may not be a clay you would like. It felt like a combo of Premo and Fimo Soft to me.

There are a few drawbacks to this clay that have nothing to do with the clay itself. First, the packaging is nothing like we are used to in the US. It comes in a plastic jar and the clay is formed into little balls. Recycling is a problem for me living in a very small town in the middle of nowhere, so I have no idea what to do with all the jars. Maybe I can find a use for them as storage in my studio. Second, the little balls are kind of fun, at first, but I’d rather just slice a chunk off of a block of clay and blocks are much easier to store. Third issue for me personally is the price. The jars hold 2.7 oz and MSRP is $4.95 – $5.95. Considering I can buy many other brands of polymer clay for about $2.50 for 2 oz ($1 for 2 oz when on sale) I can’t see myself switching clays any time soon. Which is a bummer, because I really do like this new clay.

The quality of this clay is comparable to the other polymer clays I have used in the past (Premo, Fimo, Kato) and I did make a few nice items while experimenting.

Made of Pardo Jewelry Clay

Steampunk Heart


Twisted Pendant

Twisted Pendant


Vine Necklace

Vine Necklace

Close-up

Close-up

Asian Pendant

Asian Pendant

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dan
    Mar 31, 2009 @ 17:04:27

    Wow, I LOVE the Twisted Pendant. And I love your blog…welcome to the blogosphere! Keep up the good work, and don’t become a slacker blogger like I have šŸ™‚

    Reply

    • Tonja Lenderman
      Mar 31, 2009 @ 17:18:34

      Dan, Thank you for your kind words šŸ™‚ I am going to try very hard to post something every day and not be a slacker blogger LOL

      Love you work !!! The Fine Silver Celtic Triptych Pendant is killer ! Looks like you dug it up a Stonehenge. And your faux ceramics are simply beautiful. I’ll have to add you to my blog links so I can keep an eye on you šŸ˜‰

      Reply

  2. joanne Rodriguez
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 20:07:47

    I used the pardo jewelry clay and it blew up in my conventional oven. What could have gone wrong. I had it set on 275 for 45 min and the clay was still soft and my charms were flexible. I put it in for another 45 min still soft andc so I turned it up to 300 for about 2 min and the clay blew up. please help me. thanks joanne

    Reply

  3. Tonja Lenderman
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 22:31:17

    @Joanne Rodriguez: I am so sorry to hear about the troubles. Not sure how much help I can be. I have only used Pardo in a small amount to experiment.

    I would venture a guess that the issue was the temperature. Always bake at the manufacturer’s temp on the package. A lot of polymer clays are flexible even after baking, especially if the finished pieces are thin.

    I can’t imagine polymer clay blowing up since there are no explosive contents. šŸ™‚ So I will assume you are meaning extensive cracking forcing the piece to come apart. This can be caused by air trapped in the clay. The higher heat would have made the air expansion greater, causing the clay to split open.

    The person to really talk to is Pardo spokesperson and artist Lisa Pavelka. She’s a real pro and may have some pointers I have not covered. You can find her on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/#!/lisa.pavelka and through her website http://www.heartinhandstudio.com

    Hope this helps.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

My Amazon Shop

Purchase your Polymer Clay books from my Amazon.com Associates Shop and save money. If you have Amazon Prime they ship free. http://astore.amazon.com/polcor-20
