New Sculpey Bake Shop Clay

A friend sent me a link to the Polymer Clay Superstore and I was surprised to see this new product called Bake Shop Clay by Sculpey.

Sculpey Bake Shop Clay

Sculpey Bake Shop Clay

I Googled the name and only got that one link to the clay. How odd that Polyform hasn’t tried to get the word out about a new clay.

The retail price is cheaper at $1.29 for 2 oz. I only saw 7 colors and there was no white, yellow or red, so I’d have to guess that they are just out of several colors. I’d sure be interested to hear if anyone out there has heard anything about the clay or has had the chance to use it.

Update* I just got some info from Jenn D. She told me there was some news about this clay in a Yahoo forum after CHA. Judi Weers told everyone “It feels like a cross between Sculpey III and Ultralight. It’s geared toward kids and, therefore, easier for them to condition and use. I got a bunch of samples to experiment with for our guild.” I’ll have to track Judi down and see how their guild liked the Bake Shop Clay.

Update #2* Another person who picked up some of this clay at CHA said is it a kids clay. It is very soft and is not a suitable replacement for artist grade polymer clay like Premo.

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sue Castle
    Mar 27, 2009 @ 19:02:40

    Re: Sculpey Bake Shop, it isn’t even listed on Polyform’s website, so real curious what it is. Hugs, Sue C

    Reply

  2. Martha Aleo
    Mar 31, 2009 @ 13:40:41

    I have some and tried it. It’s soft. I thought it would be flexible, but pieces I conditioned well and rolled out on # 3 and # 8 both flunked the bend test. It’s being marketed for children.

    Reply

  3. Tonja Lenderman
    Mar 31, 2009 @ 14:01:03

    Martha, thank you for the input.

    Reply

  4. incicioke
    Apr 04, 2009 @ 08:15:46

    Great site this tonjastreasures.com and I am really pleased to see you have what I am actually looking for here and this this post is exactly what I am interested in. I shall be pleased to become a regular visitor 🙂

    Reply

  5. Angela M.
    Jun 04, 2009 @ 13:16:32

    If you’re still interested in learning more about the clay, I just reviewed it on my blog: http://blog.craftygoat.com/2009/06/bake_shop_clay.html

    It is a very soft kids’ clay, and not especially strong, as Martha pointed out (though I felt it was less brittle than their other kids’ clays). I like the comparison to a Sculpey III/Ultralight cross. It’s smooshy like Ultralight, but stickier.

    And I second your surprise at how little Polyform has publicized it. Seems strange. But then again, that’s not the first time I’ve thought Polyform has missed out on marketing opportunities…

    Reply

  6. muhammet köymen
    Aug 20, 2009 @ 00:47:59

    sculpey ile ilgili bir kitap yapmak istiyoruz. ilginç sculpey projeleri olanlar, adım adım fotoğraflayarak, yapımını anlatan metni ile birlikte, kendi özgeçmiş ve fotoğraflarını yollayabilirler. seçilecek projelerden oluşacak bir kitap olacak.
    saygılarımla

    Turkish translation-
    We want to do a book about sculpey. sculpey projects are interesting, step by step photo, with text describing construction, can send their resume and photos. will consist of a book project will be chosen.
    best regards

    Reply

  7. Alyssa
    Apr 30, 2010 @ 10:38:57

    You can get this at Joann Fabrics ($0.99 in my area) and they haven about 12 colors. I find that although the bake shop is softer than Sculpey III it works just as well and actually bakes smother. When first removing bake shop from the pack, the feel of it can be compared to sculpey III after you’ve been kneeding it for several minutes—so naturally it gets softer when using it

    Reply

  8. M&M
    Jul 30, 2011 @ 15:45:16

    Is Firefly Sculpey Bake Shop weatherproof after baked?

    Reply

  9. Tonja Lenderman
    Aug 01, 2011 @ 13:40:00

    M&M – Wish I could give you the answer. I am not sure how it will react to being outside. I know some clays are not colorfast and will lose bright colors in the sun.

    Reply

  10. pam perry
    Jul 09, 2013 @ 17:23:56

    just formed a door and windows using this product – noticed that it’s bake time is much longer than the directions recommend – like three (3) times as much and my door is still slightly soft – I plan to put a spray finish and paint the door and windows both with acrylic paint and then spray finishing them again – Then they will be attached to a small tree stump to be used with my gnomes. I’ll re-comment if my plans don’t work out…pperry

    Reply

Leave a Reply

My Amazon Shop

Purchase your Polymer Clay books from my Amazon.com Associates Shop and save money. If you have Amazon Prime they ship free. http://astore.amazon.com/polcor-20
